OCD?

Sooo…I have this tiny, little obsession with starting on the last question of quizzes, tests, and exams and working through the test backwards…

I have no idea why.

I have no idea how this developed.

I just know that it feels good to go backwards because then I’m counting down! And maybe it’s been ingrained in me that the harder questions are almost always on the last page.

I consider it a mild form of OCD because if I don’t do it this way, I feel like I don’t pace myself well enough. Also, I tend to think that I do better on tests if I do it this way.

Another thing I consider a mild form of OCD is washing my hands…I guess it’s more of a germ-a-phobia (there’s probably a term for this somewhere but I’m too lazy to look it up). I must open doors with a sleeved hand or with my foot by kicking it open (hoping that it’s unlocked and able to be kicked). I cannot touch anything off the ground unless I am able to wash my hands or use hand sanitizer shortly afterward. I cannot touch my face unless I wash or somehow sanitize my hands. I cannot eat anything off the ground…that is just a big no-no. It’s taken me a while to actually eat things off of my kitchen table…but it has to be dry food (i.e. cereal, as opposed to fruit). This would probably be more of an OCD characteristic partially because something probably happened a long time ago that traumatized me so much or made me feel guilty…thus, the washing of the hands symbolizes the cleansing of my conscious. Weird, huh?

Currently listening to my study playlist (midterm time!) and the song playing now is “Le moulin” by Yann Tiersen.

Leave a Reply

