COM (a.k.a. Change Of Major)

I’m currently a third year at UCI and the situation with my major is definitely a funny one. I didn’t get into my major classes my first quarter…instead I was placed into pre-reqs…I guess I just wasn’t as good at math and science as high school made me think I was. I took pre-chem and pre-cal…did all right in chem…sucked at calc. Let’s just say it wasn’t the right path for me! Sooo, I had my heart set on changing ASAP! I jumped around on a fews ideas before landing on Arts and Humanities with emphases on Music and Film & Media Studies. This seemed like a pretty logical enough double-ish major…there’s music in film and television…and music plays a huge role in moods and settings in those films and television programs. It was perfect! I couldn’t become a piano major to begin with (although my piano teacher highly recommended becoming a piano minor, but there was no music minor) and I really missed music.

By then, I was already in my second year at UCI. I had taken four choir classes already and was just about to start Music 15B and Music 16B (Musicianship and Theory, respectively) after testing in and getting super good scores…apparently. Musicianship was awesome! Super amazing, fun class!!! Theory, on the other hand, was totally not what I expected. I went to one class…and then dropped it. Partially, because I talked to a teacher about the Arts and Humanities major and it was going down the drain. Not very many of them at school still and many were graduating. So, that plan was kaput… Then, I decided to become a Psychology and Social Behavior major…my brother had just graduated as a Psychology major, so my mom approved of it I guess. That was the next plan. I took the three intro classes…maybe I still wasn’t fully transitioned or over my high school senior-itis yet, because I did horribly in those classes…two C’s and one C-…no motivation whatsoever for those classes. I don’t even know why I didn’t put in the effort…it’s not like they were difficult classes at all…such a slacker…

So, we get to my third year at UCI…I decided to minor in Film and Media Studies because it just sounded cool and the internships looked amazing! The first intro class was the coolest class ever! It was supposed to be difficult to get an A in the class…I got an A-. I sat through a week and half of the second intro class…and decided to drop the minor. If my major isn’t doing so well, I might as well just focus on that instead of spreading myself too thin and just barely passing everything. I retook one of the intro Psych classes to see if I could get a better grade…still got a C…then I decided to retake a different intro Psych class and am currently doing pretty well and actually paying attention. Problem? I emailed the Social Ecology academic counselors over Christmas break and they finally got back to me. Even if I retook the C- class and got an A…I wouldn’t be eligible to change my major to PSB because you can only retake classes you get a C- in (or lower)…A+C+C = 2.8 average GPA for those classes…no bueno. Dammit, can’t change…what’s next? The peer academic counselor who emailed me back suggested Criminology, Law and Society or Planning, Policy and Design or a general Social Ecology major. So, now my mind is set…

SOCIAL ECOLOGY HERE I COME!

Leave a Reply

