Consumed with emotions

I have no idea why today I am so consumed with emotions…

It started in my Film and Media class. We watched Les Parapluies de Cherbourg (Demy, 1964) (=The Umbrellas of Cherbourg). My initial reactions to the film were that the colors were fantastic. The bright multitude of colors and vividness of each shade. It was such a joy to see so many colors. The soundtrack was so beautiful! “I Will Wait For You” was the song I have been searching for forever!!! I had no idea that it was originally sung in French. It was just too much for me… I welled up inside… There were about three moments in the whole film when I felt tears behind my eyes ready to stream down my cheeks. Geneviève (Catherine Deneuve) was so gorgeous and I felt her every emotion. She is such a wonderful actress! I didn’t know what to expect at all. I had just been told that the entire film was full of song…each word was sung in a recitative form! How wonderful is that?! I love to sing and I love music and this was the absolute best movie for the mood I was in.

Then, just now I watched Katy Perry’s “Firework” music video for the first time. I love inspiring songs! This has such a powerful message that you can shine brightly if you have faith in yourself and you believe you can change the world around you. You can be the change you wish to see in this world. But you have to be the one to do it. Of course, I felt tears coming up again…

Music does such wonders! Music is in everything and it is powerful enough to make even the strongest people cry…

Gosh, I’m so emotional right now…

Leave a Reply

