There is so much more.

These are the lyrics to the beautiful song “There Is So Much More” by Brett Dennen:

When I heard the news,
My heart fell on the floor
I was on a plane on my way to Baltimore
In these trouble times its hard enough as it is
My soul has a known a
better life than this

I wonder how so many can be in so much pain,
While others don’t seem to feel a thing
Then I curse my whiteness,
and I get so damn depressed,
In a world with
suffering,
Why should I be so
blessed?

I heard about a woman who lives in Colorado,
She built a monoment of sorts behind the garage door
Where every day she
prays for all whom are born
And all whose
souls have passed on
Sometimes my trouble gets so thick
I can’t see how Im gonna get through it
but then I’d rather be stuck up in a tree
Than be tied to it

There is so much more…

I don’t feel comfortable with the way my clothes fit
I can’t get used to my body’s limits
I got some fancy shoes to try and
giggle away these blues
They cost a lot of money but they aren’t
worth a thing
I wanna
free my feet from the broken glass and concrete
I need to get out of this city
Lay upon the ground stare a hole in the
sky
Wondering where I go when I die
When I
die.

Well, I’m not White, but I do live in a city that prospers (for the most part). I often wonder why bad things happen to good people…then I remember that everything happens for a reason. I was meant to feel this so that I could one day do something about it. There are some people who just live their lives and don’t care about anything as long as they get what they want. Then, there are people who do something about the poverty they see; they do something about the destitution in other countries; they do something about the pain and the suffering. They appreciate what they have and give what they don’t need. These are the people I respect.

Leave a Reply

