Cleaning out my closet…

Tomorrow, the Cerebral Palsy truck is a’coming forth to pick up the things that have been stored away in our closets for…like…EVER!

All I can say is that my closet and drawers are full of memories. Embarrassing and painful, and yet fun and amazing memories. Mostly this is from my old dance costumes. Of course, right?

My very first actual ballet performance with Shan-Yee Poon Ballet School was in the summer of 2004 with Ballet 1B…the little kids ballet class. By this time, I was in 8th grade. That was pretty embarrassing because I was one of the tallest. It was a “bunny” dance. Hahaha…also, the costume for 1B was painful because of the sequins along the top edge of the leotard, which went along under the arms. I swear I got all cut up BEFORE the performance!

But, at the same time, I was also in Ballet 2B with the bigger kids.  The costume for 2B was a lot better…but still not my favorite. It was a “tarantella” sort of dance. We even got to use tambourines!

Jazz 1 (with most of the same girls from Ballet 1B) had me wearing this white outfit…with tassles.

Tap 1 the next year (2005) introduced me to red flapper dresses! It was danced to “Sing, Sing, Sing” by Kodo.

Jazz 2 was a disco number danced to a music medley by Earth, Wind, and Fire.

Ballet 2B this year was…hmm, I don’t remember…teehee.

In 2006, I didn’t perform with the school. Instead I went to my uncle’s wedding in Hawai’i! Yay! But, Tap 2 had a cool routine to “I Am Music” by Common.

In 2007, the Ballet 3A routine was fabulous! A super fun routine with really pretty costumes!!! After this performance, I quit ballet…hahaha…hah… :3

In Jazz 2 this year, we wore black jazz pants and white sequin-y top (flat sequins…not those stupid glued-on-but-still-sticking-out ones) and we danced to the tunes of Irene Cara (“What A Feeling” and “Fame” and possibly another one).

Tap 2 had us wearing PINK FLAPPER DRESSES! Hahaha this was my Halloween costume in 2008….if any of you remember. 😉 We danced to Chicago showtunes…like “All That Jazz.”

Finally, in 2008, Jazz 3 had us wearing these brown “cavewoman” outfits and we did a dance to a drum number…

Also, in 2008, Tap 3 had my class wearing black sequin-y booty shorts attached to a mesh top which was see-through in the stomach and back areas. We did an “a cappella” section and then a music section. This was BY FAR the coolest tap routine because during the a cappella section we were wearing black jazz pants…after that section, we took them off and revealed our booty shorts!!! lol =P

Anyway, those are my years dancing! ❤

Leave a Reply

