Fascinating vs. Revolting

For some reason, I find the human eye completely amazing. Everything about the eye is so beautiful and delicately intricate. This may be because my optometrists have always showed me the pictures they take of the back of my eyes. Whatever it is, it’s amazing how something so small can cause so many problems. Macular degeneration, cataracts, glaucoma, conjunctivitis, etc.

And yet, at the same time, the human brain disgusts me. Just imagining the squishiness (not that the eye isn’t squishy at all) of the lobes and the neural tissue folds…sends shivers down my spine. I don’t exactly know why I find it unappealing. I mean, when I [finally] switch my major to Psychology and Social Behavior, I’ll have to look at brains to figure out where certain psychological things happen. Maybe I can just keep looking at brains and try to get used to what they look like. I should get used to it…but, for now, I will keep avoiding them for as long as I can.

HOWEVER, learning about the functions and the diseases and mental disorders of the brain are soooo interesting! I guess it’s just the visual aesthetics of it that disgust me.

Don’t you just love the human body?!

Leave a comment