So…what’s your name?

I think it is the funniest thing in the world when you’ve met someone a couple times and clearly they recognize you…but they still can’t seem to remember your name. That has happened to me soooo often these past two years, especially because most classes are just a quarter long so you only get know someone for about two months. Then it’s “see ya later!” On the other hand, it is so embarrassing when you can’t remember someone else’s name and they ALWAYS remember yours. o.0

I’m not sure how I got started on the whole name thing today…but I decided to just explore stuff about names.

When I was born, my mom wanted to name me “Sarah.” My dad didn’t like it and said “Rachel” instead. My mom didn’t like that (because it was too harsh sounding) and, thus, compromised and suggested “Rachelle.” And that is how my name came about. There isn’t a true meaning for my name, but the definition of “Rachel” is “an ewe or a lamb.” I guess it’s fitting because I’m generally pretty shy and conservative, like a quiet and docile lamb. Interesting, huh?

Leave a Reply

